The Awkward

Maturity is knowing you were an idiot in the past.
Wisdom is knowing you’ll be an idiot in the future.
Common sense is knowing that you should try not to be an idiot now.
~
Questionable Content

I like rereading things I’ve written in the recent past.  Probably a rather vain habit, but oh well.  I just like knowing I’ve done a good job of saying what I wanted to say.

On the other hand, I hate reading anything I wrote more than a few years ago.  It’s just embarrassing!  The phrases that sound so elegant and deft and cutting then just seem…awkward.  Gawky.  Clichéd sometimes.

And don’t even get me started on examples of advice I gave out in past years.  Sometimes I was right, sometimes I was wrong, and I always thought I was simply brilliant.

Problem is, I still tend to think I’m brilliant.  My friend K and I were discussing today how difficult it is to write posts for a blog, knowing that you’ll no doubt sound ridiculous in a few years, or to someone who’s a bit older.  And in a few years I’ll no doubt cringe while reading this very post.  And I’m okay with that.  I’ll try not to be too much of an idiot.

This entry was posted in people and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

