Fishiesticks!

I’m tired today.  The baby was quite clingy; I think she’s still recovering.

Real Simple had a recipe for baked fish sticks, and I remembered I had some frozen tilapia in the freezer (I love Trader Joes and their frozen fish) so I thought I’d give it a try.  Of course, when I went to make dinner I discovered that while I have fish I don’t have panko.  I didn’t want to run out and didn’t feel like using flour (which would have worked but would have been kinda bland) but fortunately the last time I made Oven-Fried Chicken (which is essentially homemade Shake-n-Bake) I made a double batch and saved the extra, so I used that instead.  I was a little worried about how the flavors would match, but it really worked just fine.

(On a related note: why do recipes always overcook fish so badly?  It’s mostly true of chicken and beef too, but fish tends to be the worst.  The recipe said 10-12 minutes, I cooked it for 8 and it was perfect.  And I think my sticks were thicker than they said.  It’s ridiculous.  No wonder people put too much salt and fat on their meat, if they cook it until it could be ground up for particleboard.)

We didn’t have tartar sauce, so Hero chopped up some pickle and we faked it, and half a cantaloupe completed the meal.  It was good.

This meal rather illustrates a key difference between my mother-in-law and me.  M would never play with a recipe like I did – she follows the recipe exactly as given.  On the other hand, she would have gotten all the ingredients in the first place.  My way works pretty well in the kitchen but not so well in the study, which is why Hero handles all our bookkeeping.

This entry was posted in epicure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

