Identifying Mark

If you ever come visit us, please note that you are *not* required to take your shoes off.

A lot of people walk in, see that Hero and I are barefoot, and assume they need to take their shoes off.  We really don’t care, so it leads to don’t-do-that-unless-you-want-to-in-which-case-please-do awkwardness.  Not a big deal, but a bit of a hiccup in the start of the visit.

On the other hand, if I visit you, I will probably kick my shoes off at the earliest opportunity.  Doesn’t really matter where we are – I go barefoot at services, at weddings, at restaurants (once we’re in our seats), at school – anywhere I can get away with it, really.  I got married barefoot, much to the photographer’s bewilderment.

I’m not sure why going barefoot is such a big thing for me.  It’s partly habit, since Mom loved going barefoot outside.  It was (and continues to be) my safe way of rebelling against social conventions.  And I feel less clumsy, which is a great comfort.

So if I ever make it to BlogHer, or Catalyst, or a TMB get-together, you’ll know me by the shoes I’m not wearing.

This entry was posted in epicure, people and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Identifying Mark

  1. Alise says:

    I LOVE going barefoot. And you will rarely find any of us with shoes on in our house.

    If I could play our gigs barefoot, I’d be so all over that.

  2. You might consider Vibram 5 fingers for situations where you’d like to go barefoot, but you can’t technically (like stores and things) or dangerousish ground (ouchy rocks, glass).

    I don’t have a pair yet, but one of the UMass fencing alums works for them, and I know quite a few people who prefer bare feet who swear by them!

  3. Sue says:

    I used to do just that and hated wearing shoes. I also rejected all forms of socks, even in Michigan’s winters. ;)

    Then I had a baby – and I found the foot pain to be so bad that crawling to the bathroom from the bed in the morning seemed like a decent and reasonable option. :( The doctor said it was from not supporting my (ridiculously high) arches and all of those years going barefoot.

    So the closest I get to barefoot now is a pair of Birks – which is almost as good, except that they have fantastic arch-support. So if I meet you at a BlogHer, Catalyst, or TMB gathering, you’ll know me by my hippie shoes. :)

  4. yay for all the barefooting!

    Those Vibram shoes look really weird. Comfortable, but weird. Actually, they really look like the prosthetic feet used by the hobbits in Lord of the Rings – Vibram should make a version like that

    I’m pretty fortunate that I haven’t had foot problems, since I also have ridiculously high arches. Hero has no arches at all, so I’m kinda curious to see how Beauty’s will be. We made footprint angels with my family a couple years ago and it was pretty funny – Hero’s footprint made a big triangle, mine had the heel and the ball of the foot and I had to paint in the middle because it wouldn’t print.

Leave a Reply

