Songs I refuse to believe in

When I got in the car last night, the radio was halfway through the song “Cheeseburger in Paradise.”  I kept expecting it to turn into a commercial for Chili’s or something, but it never did and therefore is presumably a real song.  However, I refuse to believe it’s a real song and am mentally putting it with the other pseudo-songs in my head.

Pseudo-songs include Barbie Girl (I spent quite a long time thinking it was an atypically honest jingle), the YMCA (ditto), and Everybody Dance Now (which was clearly produced for use at skating rinks.)  They simply don’t exist, because if they do exist then my head might implode, and we don’t want that, do we?

There are also a few songs which have some minor accuracy issue that bugs me, though not badly enough to be classed as a pseudo-song.  The only one that comes to mind at the moment is “It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere” which is mostly a very fun song but has the lyric “It’s only half-past twelve, but I don’t care/It’s five o’clock somewhere.”  Except that if it’s half-past twelve here, it can be four-thirty or five-thirty in other places, but not five.  Unless you’re in one of the super-rural places that uses sun time.  Or one of the places that has a half-hour offset is in the right place.  Which might be the case.

Is a difficulty.

This entry was posted in epicure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Songs I refuse to believe in

  1. suetalbert says:

    you amuse me, friend. :)

    except that you dissed Jimmy Buffett, and by default, all ParrotHeads. *shaking head*

Leave a Reply

