Little People – a tiny street art project

Little People – a tiny street art project.

Someone posted this on twitter, and I love it – art that involves leaving little tiny figures in public places for people to notice.  Or not notice.  There’s a lot of humor in it, and I like it as a gentle reminder to leave space in our heads for others.  Maybe someday we’ll try our hands at making something similar.

It also reminds me of the fairy houses my sisters and I used to make – we’d pick a corner of the yard (C had the best ones staked out) and build on whatever was there with braided grass and leaves pinned together with pine needles.  Usually C would be making ball dresses our of flower petals, so N and I would prepare the ballroom, and the patio and gardens, and possibly snacks as well.  Then we would leave it for the fairies to find – sort of an inversion of the typical fairy tales, when fairies would make something for the impoverished human.  I know Mom got photographs of a few of the dresses, but I don’t think the buildings were ever recorded.

This entry was posted in browsing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little People – a tiny street art project

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Little People – a tiny street art project | My Brain and Other Curiosities -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

