Happy Hanukkah!

I have a new computer!!  I got my old computer during my senior year of high school, so it’s time for an upgrade.  (Hero did add some RAM a few years ago, which helped, but not really quite enough.)  I went for a laptop this time, since the flexibility is an advantage with a baby.  Since my peripherals are all in good shape and nothing will induce me to give up my graphics tablet, we also got a docking station so I can easily plug it in and pretend it’s a desktop after all.

(The graphics tablet was Hero’s birthday gift to me when we were engaged.  It makes graphics stuff easier, of course, and at this point I prefer it to a mouse for general browsing, much to the bewilderment of everyone else who tries to use my computer.)

It also has a 500 GB hard drive, which is quite amusing since my old computer had 40 GB when we bought it and Hero flatly refused to install a second hard drive, saying I that would never need the additional space, the setup would be a hassle, and my dad would be better off spending the money on a decent set of speakers if he really wanted to upgrade my computer from the package deal we were buying.  (Hero was my dad’s tech person back then; since we were dating we joked that he was working off the brideprice.)  And I must confess that I haven’t felt the need for more space (though admittedly most of the big stuff now is on Hero’s external drive) and the speakers have been quite nice to have.

So I’m wandering around, getting a better feel for Windows 7 (we decided that all-Windows would make the network run more smoothly than tossing Linux into the mix), installing software and tweaking settings and generally settling in.  I think I’m going to take a second try at learning to use Inkscape properly – I tried it once before but didn’t get far before life intervened.

And to compensate those of you who couldn’t care less, here is a picture of Beauty and I at Thanksgiving.  Our pictures have gotten much better since Hero started tweaking them for me.  I’m okay at it, but he’s much better.

This entry was posted in nerd, people and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Hanukkah!

  1. Shula says:

    Such beautiful girls!

    and hurray for your new laptop

Leave a Reply

