ICAD the third

The ICAD project seem to lend itself to using quotes as part of art, something I haven’t done in a while.  and when I went to do so, I discovered that apparently I don’t have a fund of quotes available in my head, aside from the one from Chesterton about dead fish.

So I’ve been poking about for sources of quotes to use.

what starts like a scary tale/ends like a fairy tale

We put on The Court Jester, a movie starring Danny Kaye which you should totally check out if you haven’t seen it before.  It’s very very funny and incredibly clean – there isn’t even any potty humor.  It makes me very happy.  Anyway, the last lines (which are sung) ended up on the card I did that night.

(The dots are printed.  I printed something out for another purpose entirely and ended up not using most of it, so I cut the graphically interesting bits into 3×5 cards to use for ICAD.)

Poking around on the internet didn’t turn anything I liked up.  A lot of the lists and collections of quotes were too cliched or too big to be of any real use.  Or I just plain didn’t resonate with them.

this just made me smile

 

Eventually I thought to google “INTP quotes.”  INTP is my Meyers-Briggs personality type, for those of you familiar with it.  I find Meyers-Briggs useful as a shorthand for description, and it helps me understand others better.

Anyway, it turns out that there’s whole online forums for INTPs (and for the other types as well, of course) and naturally those forums tend to have a thread or two about quotes people like.  Jackpot.

colored pencil over homemade chalkboard paint

 

This entry was posted in creator, epicure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

