Squares

I think I mentioned that I’ve been doing art again, mostly on squares cut from cereal boxes.  I’m more pleased with some pieces than others,but they’ve been fun anyway.  It’s a nice size and shape to work with, though I suppose framing them will be a pain if I ever get that far.

I quite like this one.  It was inspired by DaisyYellow, who has been printing out photographs and sticking them into her art journal lately.  I don’t have the cool little printer she has, but it was easy enough to print out a cell phone pic (Beauty on Yom Kippur, made worse but much hipper with a cross-process filter) and paint around it.

The only irritation is that I keep feeling I’ve seen it before, so possibly I inadvertently copied something I’ve seen online.  Or perhaps it’s just a number of elements that are popular these days.

Haven’t decided yet if this is exciting and energetic or just chaotic.  Probably the latter.  That’s okay.  It’s more cell phone pictures, along with a quote from Bertrand Russell: “The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain, but wiser people so full of doubts.”

Then there’s this.  It’s certainly not done, but I haven’t the faintest idea what ought to happen next.  It did allow me to play with faux embossing, which was fun.  (The “HOME” is raised: I cut it out of printer paper several times with my Silhouette, stacked them, and then mod podged tissue paper over the whole thing.  Quite fun to do.)  Font is MyFairCody.

And then there’s this one, which I quite like.  It may not be done yet, but I think it probably is.  It’s a reverse stencil: I put down all sorts of wild and crazy color, applied the shapes (contact paper, cut with my Silhouette – font is Dancing Script) then painted over it to get the yellow background.  I like it a lot.

linking:
Pinkapotamus
Skip to My Lou
C.R.A.F.T.
Making the World Cuter
Passionately Artistic
This entry was posted in creator, epicure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squares

  1. Kirsten says:

    Wow! I absolutely love the last one with the bird! You’re so talented!

    • Thanks! It’s my favorite too. That’s my favorite part of owning a Silhouette – i can have all the fun of art and let the computer handle the fiddly stuff. (The design is mine, but at least on the computer i can fix mistakes!)

Leave a Reply

