Hold

Today I finished my painting for our congregation’s new nursery/cry room.  Hooray!  I’ve been working on it off and on for quite some time now.

(Technically, it isn’t quite finished – I should probably add a coat of sealant, and I need to paint the edges (it’s on plywood) and it actually hasn’t been signed yet.  But the important parts are finished.)

I thought it was finished yesterday, when I finished painting the lettering.  (I cut the letters from vinyl, but didn’t like the color and ended up carefully painting over it.)  But I wasn’t quite happy because the background was overwhelming the text, which is always a problem when you like bright colors like I do.  Hero saw it and suggested that I use a gold Gelly pen to outline the lettering.  So I bought one today and I do believe he was right.  I love it.

(His suggestion may or may not have had anything to do with the fact that I recently bought my first two Gelly pens and have been eyeing the other colors ever since.  I had some in high school, but I didn’t get them then and ended up pitching them.  I get them now.)

The phrase “And by Him all things hold” is from Colossians 1:17 “And He existed before all things, and by Him all things hold together.”  It’s such an evocative phrase for me.  He is the core, the center, the foundation of all logic and mathematical truth.  He is the Unchanging One.  He is light, and He will bend space and time rather than break His promises.  He is energy, and He halts entropy without losing any part of Himself.

By Him all things hold.

Mal Reynolds saying “I do not hold to this,” with the sun streaming around him.

“We are the center, and the center must hold.”  From Bones.

“He’s got the whole world in His hands.”

“O the deep, deep love of Jesus, vast, unmeasured, boundless, free!
Rolling as a mighty ocean in its fullness over me!”

The background is abstract, but it represents the stars and planets, held in their courses by His will.  It represents us as people, moving in the dance that is laid out for us.  It represents string theory, and God weaving the strings together into matter and energy, never resolving the paradoxes of our existence because He is bigger than paradox.

A couple close-up shots:

I’m really happy with it.  I’m not sure everyone who sees it will really get it, but that’s okay.  It makes me happy.

linking:
Sugar Bee Crafts
Lines Across My Face
Passionately Artistic
Reasons to Skip the Housework
Not Just a Housewife
Heavenly Homemakers
This entry was posted in creator, truth-seeker and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hold

  1. As long as the important parts are finished! There’s always those never-ending finishing touches! And don’t worry if everyone doesn’t “get it”, all that matters is that it makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

