550 nm

Daisy Yellow is Building a Rainbow and today is the day for green.  Or aqua.  But I had trouble mixing an aqua I liked.  I’ll have to work on that.

It’s an index card (Of course it is. I love doing index cards. It’s wonderfully instant satisfaction.) with a couple layers of acrylic paints and some candle wax, dripped on and textured with a steel ruler.  The picture doesn’t really do it justice, but that’s okay.  The wax was inspired by i am rushmore, who has been messing about with beeswax, which sounds awfully fun.  Candle wax isn’t as easy to mess about with, but still quite fun.

This entry was posted in creator and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 550 nm

  1. This looks totally fun!!

  2. Tammy says:

    Loving the textures in your index card. Aqua was definitely a challenge – I fiddled around with lots of combinations and liked several but none just perfect. Thank you for helping us build a rainbow!

  3. iamrushmore says:

    ok, so I got to the part where you said you were using candle wax and I thought “THAT’s SO Cool” and then I read the next sentence to see you were inspired by me. I’m honored! this is such a cool index card and a lovely mix of greens. I’m definitely going to try dripping some candle wax for texture.

Leave a Reply

