Passive

I wonder if I’m depressed again?  I doubt it.  My guess is I’m still recovering from that stupid cold and am therefore having trouble coming up with things to say.  Which is why I’ve done so much art-blogging lately: the topic is provided that way.

I think the most interesting thing that happened lately was that I “came out” as a novel-writer at the women’s bible study yesterday.  Several people knew, of course, but it wasn’t general knowledge.  I probably should have known better, since I promptly got swamped with well-meaning advice.  Carol offered her editing services and suggested I read a book or take a class on getting published.  Someone else suggested I talk to another lady in our synagogue who has published a devotional for advice.  Judy wanted to know when the book was coming out, but that’s because she’s a little nuts to begin with.

I’m not trying to break into the publishing world here.  That’s not the point.  The point is to have fun.  And since I seem to have produced a book that’s an entertaining read, it makes sense to see if anyone else wants to have fun too.  And if I’m going to send it to publishing types, I’d rather have it rejected for good reasons and not because it got lost in the flood of NaNoRiMo novels.

Humph.

It’s not that big a deal.  I can smile and nod and ignore them easily enough.  And they do love me quite dearly.

Also, the editing advice I get makes me wonder what most novelists are getting up to.  I don’t know what Carol would contribute, but I know Eileen advised me most seriously to swallow my pride and use spellcheck.  Articles on the internet tell me to do a straight up rewrite before even thinking of submitting it, but they also tell me to avoid the passive voice and write natural-sounding dialogue, when it never would have occurred to me to do otherwise.  I’m starting to feel like Professor Kirke: “What do they teach them in schools these days?”

Seriously, who uses passive voice these days?  Even lab write-ups in college courses are moving away from it.

This entry was posted in nerd and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passive

  1. Tammy says:

    The well-meaning book advice reminds me of the well-meaning card selling advice! Congrats on writing a story that you like, and having fun doing it.

    • pretty much. It is different people, but the community is the same. I suppose I could just stop telling them things, but they’d be quite hurt and it’s really not that big a deal. I’m having fun.

Leave a Reply

