Woolgathering

I’ve done several editing passes of 16 Years Later now, and I intend to get together with my sister this weekend to do another.  I’ll send it to a few publishing types, and if I don’t get any takers I’ll put it online.  Probably.

In the meantime, I’ve been turning ideas over for a sequel.  16 Years Later was a lot of fun to write, mostly because I’d been daydreaming various sections for a very long time, so all I had to do was get it on paper.  There were a few plots I had to think up resolutions for, but mostly I was just getting it all on paper.

So if it ends up getting published – or even if it doesn’t – if I want to do a sequel, I need to have the stories floating around in my head.  The fascinating thing (to me at least) is that the character of the daydreams has changed.  My daydreams are less likely to shy away or gloss over unpleasant things, since I know I’ll have to write it eventually.  This is probably a good thing, since my writings has always suffered from an unwillingness to have anything unpleasant happen.

I’m also apparently less likely to rework a story over and over again. The first half of the book – how the two characters meet and get to know each other – has happened a dozen different ways in my head, sometimes over and over, with slightly different permutations each time.  Writing the book was just a matter of selecting my favorite.  But now I seem to be inclined to “lock in” a story as soon as it makes sense, which is probably not the best way forward.  But it’s early days yet; hopefully my brain will revisit them as time goes on.

I’m also not certain how long the plot can go on.  I don’t want to write one of those stupid couples that is constantly breaking up due to silly misunderstandings or irrational fears.  But a stable relationship means I need more adventure, or more politics, and I’m not sure that’s my forte.  But we will see.  There’s certainly room for another book’s worth of relational issues without either character being particularly silly.

I am sleepy.  G’night.

This entry was posted in creator and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

