Middle-School

Um, hi?

I’m not dead.

I’m getting better.

No, really, I am noticing the pregnancy stuff beginning to wane.  It’s not all the way gone, but I can eat two meals a day now instead of one.  Though I’m still losing weight.  I think.  It’s not much, though.

And I’ve submitted 16 Years Later to Amazon’s publishing people!  On Monday.  Haven’t heard back, so they probably don’t want it.  So I’ll look up a couple agent-y types to try next.  But I’m mostly glad to have finished editing it (for now anyway) because that was a surprising amount of work.

And it’s Paint Party Friday, and yesterday I finally had enough energy to do a little more on my current experiment:

the colors are brighter on the original. I think. I’m feeling too lazy to pull out the real camera

It’s very much an experiment.  The first layer is modeling compound (okay, joint compound that I snitched from Hero) with some beads and stuff in it, and the concentric circles scraped in.  Then I added a bunch of color with watercolors, and yesterday I added the collaged tree-thing.

I was quite pleased with my idea for that: I took a painted paper and put it through the cross-cut shredder to make the collage material.  I love the colors, and the texture is pretty cool, with one problem – lots of other people have had this idea too.  Most of them middle-school art teachers.  Which is hardly surprising, given that middle-school art teachers perform daily minor miracles on a very small budget.  But I don’t want my piece to feel like middle-school art.

I’m not sure what the next step is.  I kinda want a layer of a transparent red gel-textured paint, so you get this gem effect with the paper at the bottom.  I may see if I can build up layers of mod podge for something like that.

Or just painting over it would be another option.  But I really like the colors I’ve got.

Also I think I want to add another layer of collaged bits first, to get better coverage.  Maybe cutting them shorter first.

Any ideas?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Middle-School

  1. molly says:

    i quite like this. lots of texture and the colors blend beautifully. i don’t think it looks middle schoolish at all.

  2. Annette G says:

    Loving your WIP. It will be interesting to see how you finish it. Happy PPF, Annette x

  3. carlarey says:

    I think it’s kind of awesome…but I loved my middle school art classes. Seriously, it’s cool. I agree that you should add more collagey bits. Do you have any bar pour? Once you have it like you want it, encasing it in bar pour would make it pretty fabulous.

  4. Carolyn Dube says:

    What a great experiment! Love all the texture you have created!!! Fingers crossed for 16 Years Later!

  5. artmusedog says:

    Your WIP is fantastic ~ very creative, colorful and original ~ hope you are feeling better ~ my first 3 months were rough ~ then it was fine ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  6. Scarlett says:

    I like your ideas on this, it’s a neat piece with a unique look and great texture!

  7. Scarlett says:

    This has a really unique look, I like where you’re going with it, you already have great ideas,just keep on keepin’ on. :)

  8. Hybrid J says:

    Interesting texture and expressive work. Well Done!

  9. NatashaMay says:

    Love the brightness and fun of this piece. :) Hope you’re feeling better soon. :)

  10. Susan Art says:

    Very cool! The texture is awesome. Can you add color to a modpodge or medium? It is a neat idea but don’t know how to do it.

    • I don’t know, but I think it’s worth a try. I was planning on trying modpodge with a couple drops of food coloring.

      • I was going to leave this on your blog, but you didn’t leave a URL…the first experiments have been quite successful! I used a couple tablespoons of mod podge and two drops of food coloring (one red, one yellow, for a lovely orangey-red color) and it’s pretty interesting to work with. It looks opaque and pink when it’s wet, but it dries translucent and vividly colored – really fun effect. The wet/dry difference means it takes some getting used to, though.

  11. Elisa Choi says:

    i like it the way it is. I love especially the tree collage. it’s really clever. :)

  12. justmiriam says:

    love how it is turning out-maybe small dots/patterns hints of silver/gold highlights? Its fun to try out new things and see where it leads you-thanks for stopping by my blog!

  13. Rhonda says:

    A wonderful wip! i don’t think it looks like middle school art. You could pour wax over as a final layer. Happy ppf (late) :-)

  14. mx says:

    SO nice to meet you! You are fun and funny AND talented! I like the repeated curves in this piece. Sorry about the pregnancy uckies… those first months… and last months… can really zap the energy! And what growing baby does not zap… well… the other household members do!

  15. Anne says:

    Your WIP looks very creative and original! Happy PPF!

  16. You are cool! LOVE your blog and this art – middle school and all ;) Bravo, xo

  17. Jennifer says:

    I love the colors and the swirls and how you’ve incorporated so much into it already!!! I’ve considered playing around with adding beads to my pieces…hmmm…now you have me thinking more about that!! Have fun experimenting!

Leave a Reply

