Radiation

Messiah Conference is in a week, which means the leaders for the teen program, including Hero, are hard at work getting stuff done.  This includes making posters to advertise various events, a task which Hero has wisely outsourced to me in the past several years.

(I actually asked to do them while we were dating too, but Hero didn’t take me up on the offer.  This was partly because he didn’t expend all that much effort on them and therefore didn’t see it as a big deal, and partly because he wasn’t used to delegating yet.  It annoyed me, though.  Conference tended to be a source of friction in general.)

Anyway, today I finished the one for The Upper Room (a series of times of prayer and worship, inspired by the prayer room at IHOP) and it’s so pretty I wanted to share it.

I’m so pleased with it.

“Seek His Face” seemed to fit in with a sun motif, possibly because of the bit in the Aaronic Benediction, “May He make His face to shine on you.”

The shapes are cut from melted crayon paintings and glued on with Mod Podge Dimensional Magic, which actually holds them on!  Hooray!  In the past I’ve had to pull out the spray adhesive if I wanted to stick crayon paintings to anything, and that was a pain.  The brown letters are cut with my Silhouette, of course, and the letters for the times were just traced on by holding the pieces up to my computer screen.  The font is Short Hand, which for some reason I cannot locate online.  Maybe there’s a jazzy spelling or something.

It’s latish, but I’ll link to Paint Party Friday anyway.

This entry was posted in creator, truth-seeker and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Radiation

  1. Wonderful creation and says so much ~~thanks, ^_^ (A Creative Harbor)

  2. This is beautiful! He was smart to finally delegate to you. ;) Looks like a labor of love. Did you say melted crayon paintings—WHA?? That sounds SO COOL!

    • That he was *grin* This one is displayed outside the room, in a high-traffic area, so I try to make it something special each year. I’ll email you about the melted crayon thing.

  3. this is a wonderful piece! melted crayon, so colorful, love it! and how i wish i had a silhouette! happy PPF and thank you for sharing,
    hugs, peggy aplSEEDS

  4. NatashaMay says:

    Beautiful bold and bright colors. :)

  5. Nancy says:

    I FINALLY found you!! Thanks for your comment on my blog about the church banners. I really like yours and the kids will, too. There is a lot of good stuff that the sign states with the sun/Son as its center. Did Hero help with the sign? (chuckle)

  6. Lynn says:

    Very cool sign! Love the bright spiral and the colors you used!!!

  7. laurie says:

    what a beautiful art piece, its amazing, very powerful!

  8. Nicola says:

    Beautiful bright colours!!! :0) I really enjoyed your previous post too about your little one’s creativity with the pens……my 5 year old loves to draw on himself and put on fake tattoo’s (daddy has two full sleeves of tattoos). I think by the time my boys grow up they won’t bother rebelling with tattoo’s where’s the fun in that if both their parents have them? heheheh. Loved the piece that your little one was working on in the photo too, looks like you have a budding artist on your hands :0)

    • Thank you so much for this! Someone left a critical comment on the previous post that managed to push a couple of buttons and was making me feel insecure and anxious until I went ahead and deleted it. I don’t think they meant to do that, but it’s still nice to have some encouragement there :) Thanks for dropping by!

  9. Great job! I love the idea of melted crayons!

  10. JKW says:

    I love the way it came out. I’ve read somewhere about melted crayons. I like the look. Blessings, Janet PPF

    • glad you like it! Do let me know if you find where you’ve read about this sort of melted crayon work – I’ve been unable to find others who do the same thing, though I haven’t looked all that hard.

  11. Pingback: Melted Crayon Paintings | My Brain and Other Curiosities

Leave a Reply

