Flop

We are back from Messiah Conference. It was quite something.

On one hand, Hero did awesome.  His workload tripled this year, but he did a better job than ever before of pacing himself and carving out time for family and taking care of himself.  He was faithful throughout to do the tasks God set for him and release everything else, and the difference was astonishing.  I’m so proud of him.  It was also really cool for both of us to see how God rewarded that faithfulness and provided over and over again.

On the other hand, I was pregnant and taking care of a toddler and it was really really hot.  (Beauty did not like the change in routine and the crowds of people and the unfamiliar apartment.  She did like eating strawberries with every meal.  I was able to mitigate it slightly by hiring a babysitter so she could have her usual bedtime and ducking out of things so she could eat her meals early, before the rush.) I was exhausted for a lot of the week.  Bursting-into-tears-for-no-reason exhausted.  (I wondered if I was depressed, but Hero and my sister both thought it was just tiredness.)  But we survived and I’m glad to be home.

I intended to do a good bit of artwork during Beauty’s naps, especially sketching.  I don’t know why sketching; it just seems like something artists work on.  At any rate, I usually feel asleep instead.

This sketch of Dolly is about as far as I got.  I’ve done worse.

I also played with Instagram.  I’m not as thrilled with it as I expected to be, but it’s pleasant enough.

I saw this preying mantis on the sidewalk as I was headed to the parenting workshop Hero and I were running.  Last year that meant asking our panelists questions, but this year they just talked for an hour straight.  Though when we came up with the theme of Discipline I did NOT mean for them to talk about spanking for half the time.  But it was still a good conversation.  Anyway, I’ve never seen a preying mantis in the wild before, so that was kind of exciting.

Beauty got impatient while I was in the bathroom and managed to pry open one of the cabinets.  She was quite pleased with herself.  I managed to get a decent picture by initiating a game of peekaboo and timing the shot so the camera took the picture at the right moment.

I think the best quote of the week was “Loveling, you can’t just put ‘Platonic’ in front of a word and call it an argument!” which is what Hero said to me after I’d suggested that the steps in front of our apartment were a Platonic chair.  I’m sure this made sense at the time.  I told you I was tired.

Also amusing was the woman reading 50 Shades of Grey in the row in front of us while she waited for Sid Roth’s class to start.  That must have caused some major mood whiplash for her.

And this is a mandala I drew during one of the classes.  Or maybe a concert.  I don’t remember and it hardly matters.  I quite like the part inside the square, but I should have let it be.  I find I’m happiest with my artwork when I keep it clean and simple, even though that causes a certain amount of insecurity when I see the beautifully layered pieces other artists produce.

And that was my week, or at least as much as I can remember coherently and tell you about without breaking somebody’s confidentiality.  I’m afraid the memories are mostly a mush of various mealtimes and figuring out what makeup to wear.  Weird.

This entry was posted in people and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flop

  1. CosetTheTable says:

    Was she reading a paper copy? Really? Because that seems like the perfect book and location combination to use a digital copy if you’re *really* intent on mixing the two.

    • Yes, she was, and no kidding. I suppose it’s possible that she didn’t know what it was about when she picked it up, since I believe it takes a few chapters to get to the sex. But…yeah, I really have no explanation.

Leave a Reply

