Return

Yesterday’s failure is today’s success, or something close enough.

Not really my usual style, but I really like it.  The white shape is actually the negative space from the bottom half of the swirl, traced in white and glitter gel pens.  (The glitter is pretty sheer, but you can see it if you look closely.)  The flowers and words are packing tape transfers from a catalog and the computer, respectively.  (The words, “and be loved in return,” are of course a quote from Moulin Rouge.  Well, no doubt they predate the movie, but that’s where I know them from.)  Incidentally, did you know packing tape transfers are way easy?  Much easier than the mod podge kind.  Anyway, then I trimmed the page to 5×7 and added the border with a stamp made by wrapping string around a bottle of nail polish.

It’s not quite done, in that I have to glue down the transfers and get it to lie flat and things, but I think I’m happy.  Which is good, because today has been very frustrating.

This entry was posted in creator and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Return

  1. Ginny says:

    Hi, I love this painting and the thoughts that you expressed on it. It’s really a very happy piece.
    Thank you for sharing the baby’s name with me tonight. It is a beautiful name. You must be very excited.
    I read your post for Paint Party Friday. I did not read all of the comments but I know I love working with soft pastels. They are so much fun to work with. You just have to be careful of the dust. At least that is what I was told by one of my painting teachers.
    Have a great week!

    • Thanks! I’m super excited.

      Oh, I’d forgotten about the dust! That might be a problem – I work in the dining room and I’m not very tidy about it. I’ll have to look up the MSDS; I’ve noticed a lot of manufacturers are starting to take out the heavy metals and make their products a lot safer.

  2. This “acceptance” symbol is quite intriguing, indeed. :))

  3. Christine says:

    very nice mixed media piece so far! Lots of movement here and soft pretty colours.

  4. I love these words from Moulin Rouge. That was a great movie — thanks for reminding me of it! I have these water soluble oil pastels that I just love. You can use them like regular pastels, and also like watercolor crayons. But then, when they dry, they no longer react to water. They’re very versatile. http://www.dickblick.com/products/portfolio-series-watersoluble-oil-pastels/

  5. Carola Bartz says:

    I love this – sometimes it is very satisfying to work on something that is not quite our style. I like your handmade stamp, it gives the page a great border.

  6. Melisa says:

    I love the way the top of the symbol forms a heart shape! Packing tape transfers are the only kind I’ve ever had any luck with.

  7. Diana Evans says:

    wow!!! love this and the sentiment

Leave a Reply

