Scent

I smell of blood and baby and breastmilk: earthy and powdery with hints of caramel.

That sentence formed itself in my mind when Kitten (Kitten and its variants have been displacing Snuggle) was a few days old, and is still kicking around.

I seem to notice smells more than usual lately: the soft smell of her baby wash and the sharp smell of her head from cradle cap and the sweet smell of her diapers and the caramel smell of breastmilk and the earthy smells of my own healing body. I don’t mind them much; in fact I rather like most of them. But they’re very present.

This entry was posted in woman and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

