Soothed

Stick

 

I am insanely proud of my daughter today, guys. She is amazing.

The last few weeks have been…not so amazing. Beauty’s been dealing with the stress of the holidays and a cold and a depressed mother* and having a new baby sister and etc and it’s been showing. She’s been having complete meltdowns at every. single. thing. When I wake her up in the morning. When I announce it’s time for a diaper change. When I put her shoes on. One meltdown when we leave the house, another when we get out of the car, and generally at least one while we’re driving for good measure. You get the idea. She hasn’t been violent or avoidant, and she’s still doing as I tell her, so it could be worse. But it hasn’t been fun.

(And yes, we have tried all manner of cuddling and reassuring and managing expectations and everything else that occurred to us. Didn’t seem to accomplish much.)

So this morning we were sitting on the couch and I was dreading the constant crying but I knew that if we just stayed on the couch all day I’d regret it. After a bit I gave myself some extra incentive by calling a friend and arranging a playdate…as soon as I’d gotten everyone dressed.

I hung up and, with a certain amount of trepidation, announced, “Beauty, it’s time to get you dressed.”

She looked up and I heard her breath catch and the wail start, but then it stopped again and she very deliberately said, “Shh. Shh. Shh.” and trundled down the hall to her bedroom.

And that was the end of it.

She soothed herself.

She did it again and again, every time I expected her to collapse into tears. I’ve been cheering her like mad and calling people to tell them about it (preferably in her hearing) and I am so, so proud of her.

This right here – watching her grow and figure things out and become able to manage her own emotions and address her own needs and communicate her own thoughts – this is what I love about being a mother.

* I’m fighting it and taking my fish oil and it’s getting better. I was thisclose to calling my therapist at one point but I don’t think I’ll need to.

This entry was posted in people, woman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

